Range of Musical Tastes

St John's Methodist Church review by Kirstie Newton

An evening with Restormel Concert Band certainly keeps the audience on its toes. Covering a wide variety of styles, from popular to classical, jazz to gospel, there really is something to appeal to all tastes. At St John's Mehtodist Church in St Austell, we were transported to the movies, via a jolly arrangement of the theme to The Flintstones, and a swinging selection from The Jungle Book. We were offered more orchestral numbers, from La Calinda by Delibes to Elgar's Nimrod. We flew around the world, from Lara's Granada to Russia thanks to Khatachurian's Sabre Dance.

The concert was punctuated by solo performances - an accomplished rendition of Mozart's Andante in C Major by Kate Whetter, who skillfully revisited the Flintstones theme into her cadenza; a slick vibraphone number from Alastair Hendry; a rib tickling, pitch-perfect Joyce Grenfell take-off by Heather Vaughan.

Under the baton of David Hendry, the band delivered a polished, enjoyable and varied evening of entertainment. They were joined by the White River Gospel Choir who, under the direction of Philip Walker, gave an astonishingly confident performance on their debut outing, just six rehearsals after forming. Their soulful numbers were enhanced by some plucky young soloists; only the hardest of hearts could have remained unmoved.

CORNISH GUARDIAN JULY 2nd 2008

RESTORMEL BAND BRINGS FESTIVE CHEER

CORNISH GUARDIAN DEC.20th 2006

CORNISH GUARDIAN DEC.20TH. 2006

Sarah Carey

Christmas cheer was in the air at St. Columb Minor Church as Restormel Concert band struck up a tune. Delighting audiences aged 8 to 98, who all left with a spring in their step, the varied repertoire really did have something for everyone.

Host, the rev. Chris McQuillen Wright, said: 'The light trills of the flutes and piccolos lifted the spirits of the audience. 'Beginning with an arrangement of Christmas favourites by Andersen, the band set out their stall to entertain.' From there the band changed tack, drifting from the melodic Alfie to Pavanne by Faure, followed by rousing and powerful renditions of Gershwin's I got rhythm. The Rev. McQuillen Wright said, ' We also had Sinatra's Christmas and a Big Band Spectacular which lifted the roof off.'

'And within it all a shining beacon of Christmas reflection with the gentle Bleak Midwinter with its delicate use of clarinets, brought a tear to the eye..'

With Saturday night TV viewing being dominated by Strictly Come Dancing, the band also treated the audience to a Bruce Forsythe tribute with El Relicario by Padilla. Alongside the beautiful Deep River the evening left the audience with a feel-good factor for which the band received a standing ovation. Hidden behind a Christmas tree, Win Wright led the sing-along with Winter Wonderland and I'm Dreaming of a White Christmas. She was supported by Heather Vaughn with a Joyce Grenfel treat and members of the village who performed hand-bell ringing a la Les Dawson.

The Rev. McQuillen Wright said: 'This was a typical concert by the band who have as their hallmark the inclusion of guest artists and audience participation .

CORNISH GUARDIAN December 20th 2006

Cornish Guardian

July 12th 2009

St Austell Voice

30th Bithday Concert

July 12th 2009

Restormel Prom 2011

Not Just Any Christmas Concert
....   goes Scottish 2011
stormel Prom 2012

Cornish Guardian
Oct 2012

Summer Season 2013 press release

All Rights Reserved restormel concert band 2014

December 2013

Eight-year-old Gracie stars in Restormel Concert Band's Christmas show in Charlestown

An eight-year-old schoolgirl was the star of the show at Restormel Band's Christmas concert on Saturday.
Making her debut, Gracie Couch, who attends St Mewan Primary School, performed a solo in front of a packed church audience in Charlestown.

"She sang beautifully," said Restormel Concert Band musical director. Gracie's mother, soprano singer Jo Dodd, also performed during the festive show at St Paul's Church, alongside the Halwyn A Gan choir and handbell-ringing group Keur Klegh Kernow.

He said it was the first time the Christmas Concert had been held at the church and this year's concert took on a more traditional theme compared to previous years.

reviews

Restormel Concert Band's Summer Season 2014

                Yes, thank you and great, we certainly had the best weekend for the
                   
                
                
> RCB to play, liked by all, please pass on our thanks to everyone involved.
Performance in White River Place July 5th 2014 as part of Feast Week
I am writing to thank you and all your band members for coming along to our Songs of Praise yesterday.  Your band excelled themselves and I hope they enjoyed playing for us as much as we all enjoyed listening to them.  It was very generous of them to give up their Sunday afternoon for us and it is much appreciated by us all.  They certainly helped to make a great afternoon even better.
 
We managed to raise the magnificent sum of £380.62 which will go directly to support the Fowey Lifeboats.
 
Thank you again for your support.
Songs of Praise, Charlestowen Harbour Sunday 13th July 2014
December 2013

Eight-year-old Gracie stars in Restormel Concert Band's Christmas show in Charlestown

An eight-year-old schoolgirl was the star of the show at Restormel Band's Christmas concert on Saturday.
Making her debut, Gracie Couch, who attends St Mewan Primary School, performed a solo in front of a packed church audience in Charlestown.

"She sang beautifully," said Restormel Concert Band musical director. Gracie's mother, soprano singer Jo Dodd, also performed during the festive show at St Paul's Church, alongside the Halwyn A Gan choir and handbell-ringing group Keur Klegh Kernow.

He said it was the first time the Christmas Concert had been held at the church and this year's concert took on a more traditional theme compared to previous years.

stormel Prom 2012
Summer Season 2013 press release

Cornish Guardian
Oct 2012

Not Just Any Christmas Concert
....   goes Scottish 2011
Dear Members of Restormel Concert Band
 
I am writing on behalf of the 'Friends of St Goran, St Just & St Michael, Caerhays' to thank you for the excellent concert you performed in Gorran church last Tuesday, 8th July. It was great fun and everyone enjoyed it immensely. You must all work very hard to provide such a high standard.
 
Once again, thank you.
Gorran Church Tuesday 8th July 2014
St Austell Feast Week Saturday 5th July 2014

Thank you so much for coming to St Austell on Saturday 5 th   July as part of the Feast Week celebrations.  Your presence was extremely well received and enjoyed by many locals and visitors alike.  It was a hot sunny day and I for one thoroughly enjoyed watching you perform with a drink outside Eden Café!

I hope that your collecting tins raised a few pennies for you on the day.

I was, as always, delighted with the band and the evening. Please pass my gratitude on to the players.
Britannia Inn Garden Friday 11th July 2014
aaaaaaaaaaaaiii